Miso paste is a traditional Japanese condiment made from fermented soybeans and koji. In Japan, miso paste is used in sauces and spreads. Also, it is used when pickling vegetables, braising fish and meat, and making soups and stews. Here, we list some of our favorite gluten-free miso paste brands.
In both South Korean and Japanese cultures, they have a condiment made from soybeans. On one hand, in South Korea, they have doenjang. On the other hand, in Japan, they have miso. While both products are made from soybeans, are fermented, and are used in cooking, they are incredibly different. Here, we will explore the difference between the two! So, doenjang vs miso: what is the difference?
In Japan, people often eat salad as a side with soup, rice, and a cooked protein for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I actually experienced eating salad every morning during my travels in Japan. When eating salad, people in Japan often use a common type of dressing known as ‘wafu dressing.’
Are you gluten-free? If so, check out our list of gluten-free soy sauce brands! We also listed a soy-free option for those who have a soy allergy!
As someone with celiac disease, I am acutely aware of people’s dietary needs and restrictions. Whether it’s for religious, health, or ethical reasons, vegetarianism continues to rise in popularity as an alternative to the meat-eating lifestyle. As such, we decided to make a meatless version of one of our favorite Japanese foods, katsu, for our vegetarian friends! So, let’s learn how to make tofu katsu, otherwise known as a vegetarian version of the Japanese steak cutlet!