Home Lifestyle and Culinary Tips Gluten-Free Soy Sauce Brands

Gluten-Free Soy Sauce Brands

by Emily
Gluten-free soy sauce brands

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read my disclosure for details at the bottom of this page. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases on this post about gluten-free soy sauce brands.

On Carving A Journey, in our attempt to make cooking Korean food easier for those on a gluten-free diet, we began to list our favorite gluten-free Korean products available in grocery stores and online. So far, we have shared our favorite gluten-free gochujang brands as well as our favorite gluten-free doenjang brands. Now, we want to share a list of our top gluten-free soy sauce brands!

Before we list our gluten-free favorites, we will also decided to list a soy-free alternative. After all, gluten is not the only major allergen out there–many people cannot eat soy as well.  

Gluten-Free Soy Sauce Brands

For the most part, gluten-free soy sauce is actually Japanese tamari. If you want to learn the difference between the two, check out our blog post about ‘Tamari vs Soy Sauce: What Is the Difference?’ While there are a few differences, for the most part, they taste relatively the same. So, whether tamari or soy sauce, they will both be delicious and similar tasting in your cooking!

Finally, before listing our favorite brands, I want to state that as an Amazon Associate, I affiliated with the product links I share below.

San-J Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

San-J is a company that makes 100% gluten-free products. They do not sell anything that contains wheat. Beyond being gluten-free, San-J produces tamari that is vegan, non-GMO, kosher, and FODMAP friendly. 

A photo of san-j gluten free soy sauce.
San-J Sells Five Different Types of Gluten-Free Tamari

The brand ‘San-J’ produces five different types of gluten-free soy sauce: regular soy-sauce tamari, 25% less sodium, 50% less sodium, organic soy sauce, and 25% less sodium organic.  

San-J Soy Sauce Ingredients: All San-J gluten-free tamari contains water, soybeans, and alcohol (to preserve freshness). They do not include additives for flavor or coloring. 

Also, if you want to try other San-J products, they make gluten-free teriyaki, Thai peanut, Szechuan, hoisin, and Korean BBQ sauces, as well as others. 

Kikkoman Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Kikkoman is an Asian sauce manufacturer that produces a line of gluten-free products. Unlike San-J, they make gluten-containing products as well. Beyond being gluten-free, Kikkoman tamari do not contain any added preservatives. Depending on the product, they may also be non-GMO. 

A photo of kikkoman gluten-free tamari
Kikkoman Sells Three Different Types of Gluten-Free Tamari

The brand ‘Kikkoman’ produces three different types of gluten-free soy sauce or tamari: regular gluten-free soy sauce, gluten-free tamari, and 50% less sodium gluten-free tamari. 

Kikkoman Soy Sauce Ingredients: 

  • Gluten-Free Soy Sauce: The regular gluten-free soy sauce contains water, soybeans, rice, and salt. 
  • Gluten-Free Tamari: The gluten-free tamari contains water, soybeans, salt, and sugar. 
  • 50% Less Sodium Gluten-Free Tamari: The gluten-free 50% less sodium tamari contains water, soybeans, sugar, salt vinegar, alcohol, and lactic acid. 

Like San-J, Kikkoman branched out from making more than just soy sauce. They also make gluten-free teriyaki, oyster sauce, sweet chili sauce, and more. Just make sure to always check their labels because they make products containing wheat. 

Eden Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Eden Foods has two types of organic tamari (gluten-free soy sauce). The first is made in the United States while the other is imported from Japan. Beyond being gluten-free and organic, both versions are non-GMO and fat-free.

A bottle of Eden Foods gluten-free tamari
Finally, Eden Food Sells Two Types of Gluten-Free Tamari

Eden Foods Soy Sauce Ingredients: 

  • United States Gluten-Free Organic Soy Sauce: The ingredients include water, whole organic soybeans, salt, organic alcohol (to preserve freshness), and koji.
  • Imported Japanese Gluten-Free Organic Soy Sauce: The ingredients include water, whole organic soybeans, sea salt, organic salted shochu (water, organic rice, sea salt, koji), and koji aspergillus oryzae.

Eden Foods sell many different products–think of pasta, flour blends, sauces, condiments, and more. When buying an Eden Foods product, always check the packaging as they sell items that are not gluten-free. 

Soy-Free Soy Sauce Alternative: Coconut Aminos

For those who live a soy-free lifestyle, I recommend using coconut aminos as a soy sauce alternative. Not only is coconut aminos soy-free, but it is also gluten-free! While coconut aminos does taste very similar to soy sauce, it is not exactly the same. Note that it tastes sweeter and lighter in flavor. 

I recommend using the brand Coconut Secret. You can easily find this brand online or in grocery stores. Their coconut aminos is organic, gluten-free, soy-free, non-GMO, MSG-free, and vegan. 

Coconut Secret's gluten-free and soy-free coconut aminos
If You Live a Soy-Free and Gluten-Free Lifestyle, Try Coconut Aminos!

Coconut Secret Coconut Aminos Ingredients: This coconut aminos is made from organic coconut tree sap that is aged and blended with sun-dried, mineral-rich sea salt.

Do You Have A Favorite Soy Sauce Brand? 

Did we mention a brand you enjoy using? If so, let us know in the comment section below. Also, if you have another gluten-free tamari brand you enjoy, let us know as well! 

If you would like to read more about cooking, you can find some recipes from our blog as well as gluten-free suggestions. Below, we listed some of our favorite Carving A Journey Korean and Japanese recipes! 

Our Gluten-Free Food Product Recommendations: 

Carving A Journey Recipes:

If you have any questions or comments, you can also email us at [email protected].

And, finally, we would love to hear from you through our social media as well! You can follow us at @carvingajourney on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest. Or, if you would like more articles like these, you can subscribe to our blog by joining our mailing list. We hope you enjoyed our list of gluten-free soy sauce brands! Thank you so much for stopping by!

Join Our Mailing List!

Subscribe to our mailing list and receive new recipes in your inbox!

Carving A Journey is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Although we may earn commissions for our endorsement, recommendation, testimonial, and/or link to any products or services from this website, these opinions are my own and I fully support these products. 

You may also like


Inez Bardell May 21, 2021 - 9:44 pm

I like using Megachef GF soy sauce

Emily May 24, 2021 - 12:15 pm

I have never tried this brand! I will have to check it out. I love that it is certified Halal! Thanks for the recommendation!!!


Leave a Comment